Winter Weather Advisory and Winter Storm Warning Issued for Thursday Snow | Weather blog

0

The National Weather Service office in Louisville issued a winter storm warning and a winter weather advisory for parts of our area ahead of the impacting snow expected Thursday. Both of these alerts are valid from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on Thursday.






Here is the text issued with the winter weather advisory where we expect less snow than in the warning zone:

...WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM EST /9 AM CST/ TO
10 PM EST /9 PM CST/ THURSDAY...

* WHAT...SNOW EXPECTED. TOTAL SNOW ACCUMULATIONS OF 1 TO 3 
  INCHES.

* WHERE...SOUTHERN INDIANA AND PORTIONS OF CENTRAL KENTUCKY NORTH
  OF THE WESTERN KENTUCKY AND BLUE GRASS PARKWAYS.

* WHEN...SNOW BEGINNING MID TO LATE MORNING. PEAK SNOWFALL BETWEEN
  NOON AND 6 PM.

* IMPACTS...PLAN ON SLIPPERY ROAD CONDITIONS. THE HAZARDOUS 
  CONDITIONS COULD IMPACT THE EVENING COMMUTE.

Below is the text of the winter storm warning where we expect more snow:

..WINTER STORM WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM EST /9 AM CST/ TO
10 PM EST /9 PM CST/ THURSDAY...

* WHAT...HEAVY SNOW EXPECTED. TOTAL SNOW ACCUMULATIONS OF 3 TO 5 
  INCHES, WITH LOCALLY HIGHER AMOUNTS POSSIBLE.

* WHERE...PORTIONS OF EAST CENTRAL AND SOUTH CENTRAL KENTUCKY.

* WHEN...SNOW BEGINNING MID TO LATE MORNING. PEAK SNOWFALL NOON
  TIL 6 PM.

* IMPACTS...TRAVEL COULD BE VERY DIFFICULT. THE HAZARDOUS 
  CONDITIONS COULD IMPACT THE EVENING COMMUTE.
Share.

Comments are closed.